*Based on blast mc


Table 11.7 O World Health Organization Classification of Acute Myeloid Leukemias

Table 11.7 O World Health Organization Classification of Acute Myeloid Leukemias

Acute myeloid leukemia with recurrent genetic abnormalities

• Acute myeloid leukemia with t(8;21)(q22;q22)

• Acute myeloid leukemia with abnormal bone marrow eosinophils

• Acute promyelocytic leukemia (AML with t(15;17)(q22;q12)

• Acute myeloid leukemia with 11q23

Acute myeloid leukemia with multilineage dysplasia

Acute myeloid leukemia and myelodysplastic syndromes, therapy-related Acute myeloid leukemia not otherwise categorized

• Acute myeloid leukemia minimally differentiated

• Acute myeloid leukemia without maturation

• Acute myeloid leukemia with maturation

• Acute myelomonocytic leukemia

• Acute monoblastic and monocytic leukemia

• Acute erythroid leukemia

• Acute megakaryoblastic leukemia

• Acute basophilic leukemia

• Acute panmyelosis with myelofibrosis

• Myeloid sarcoma

Acute leukemia of ambiguous lineage

• Undifferentiated acute leukemia

• Bilineal acute leukemia

• Biphenotypic acute leukemia rate designation for the acute leukemias that arise from a previous myelodysplastic syndrome (preleukemia/ myelodysplastic syndrome, see Chapter 14) or those occurring as a result of transition from a myeloproliferative disorder (see Chapter 12). In addition, they recognized two other categories of AML as distinct: therapy-related AMLs and those not otherwise categorized. Therefore, the four main WHO groups are:

I. AML with recurrent cytogenetic abnormalities

II. AML with myelodysplasia

III. Therapy-related AML and myelodysplastic syndrome

IV AML not otherwise categorized

It is noteworthy that the most significant change from the FAB classification is that the required blast percentage for a diagnosis of AML using the WHO criteria is greater than or equal to 20% myeloblasts in the blood or marrow compared to the FAB blast percentage criteria of 30% that has been used for many years.19

Because the WHO is the most current classification, each of these groups is discussed. However, as technology of genetic and molecular analysis is moving so rapidly, it is likely that modifications to this classification scheme will be necessary in the near future.

I. Acute Myeloid Leukemia With Recurrent Genetic Abnormalities

The most important features of this group are the recurrent genetic abnormality and favorable prognosis. The abnormalities that are commonly identified involve reciprocal translocations. Four subtypes are described here. The reader is referred to other hematology refer-

168 Part III • White Cell Disorders

Table 11.8 E Chromosomal Alterations*

Chromosome Abnormality

Clinical Correlation

Was this article helpful?

0 0

Post a comment